3 Tips On How To Dig Yourself Out of a Musical Rut

Man Sitting In Valley
Courtesy of Amanda Mason

We’ve all been there, you are listening to the same album or the same playlist over and over and you can’t seem to find anything else you even want to listen to.

I was stuck on Borns album Dopamine for nearly two months. I listened to it all day every day and I couldn’t seem to find anything else to listen to without it feeling like a chore.

Pulling yourself out of a musical rut can be difficult or frustrating but there are countless ways to pull yourself out from your deep, all-consuming hole.

 

Tip 1:

Listen to your Spotify discover playlist.

Every week your Spotify analyzes what you listen to and searches for other things that you may enjoy based on your songs. Sometimes this playlist can be off the mark or even borderline offensive. “How could my own Spotify think I would listen to 21 Pilots?!”  But there is typically a hidden gem or two in this weekly playlist of 30 songs, you just have to dive into it.

Beyond this, Spotify has an incredible browse page that I have spent countless hours, well, browsing.

Tip 2:

Ask your friends what they have been listening to.

Maybe one of your friends is listening to an album or artist that you would enjoy. Or maybe they are in a whole genre that you have yet to dive into. In the depths of one of my worst musical ruts, a friend of mine encouraged me to listen to Beyonce‘s Lemonade album. This album was a pleasant surprise that lent a hand in my battle out of the rut.

Tip 3:

Dive back into the classics or a band you used to love.

I constantly find myself falling back in love with the Red Hot Chili Peppers they are one of those bands that I never stop loving no matter how much my music taste changes. I also find myself going back to Tame Impala time and time again because they have been one of my favorite bands for years. Diving back into the early releases of one of your favorite bands can give you a whole new appreciation for your beloved tunes.

Thank you for reading and listening!

Below is a playlist of some old and new songs to help broaden your horizons or hopefully brighten your day!

Leave a Reply

